The 6th of June 1889 – Göteborg, Västergötland

(found beneath a cube of dirt)

Dear Mary,

What a trip it’s been!

As long as it has been, as much as I have seen and have to say, all I can say, for the moment, is this.

I went for a hike just this morning, and the path started to rise. And I rose with it. The trek soon became quite strenuous. Yet I continued to rise with the trail beneath me.

Then I came to the end of the path, standing at the edge of a cliff. Yet I had still an urge to go higher. I saw by my side a tree, a broad oak. So I climbed up that too.

There, again, was so much to see and so much to tell about. And, of course, the sun began to set. The sky became tinged with the tint of nectarine. Yet all I can say, for the moment, is this.

I found myself upon a sturdy branch, leaning against a gnarled trunk. I saw before me the yawning abyss of all my future, and – terrifying though it was – I was surprised that I did not come, in that moment, to loathe it completely.

I will see you soon, my dear.

-Charles

Leave a Reply

