The 28th of December 1992 – Morristown, New Jersey

(found by the water in a puddle in the shade of a tree)

Liebes Welt,

I have come to conquer the world. I have come to rewrite history.

Hoohay. Hoohah. Hoohum.

Line up your champions, one-by-one. Order them by size, ascending from the smallest bacterium to the largest cloud of loneliness. I will achieve. I will be victorious.

Hoohah. Hoohum. Hoohay.

Bring me, by a path, to the temptress’ feet. Give me, in the darkness, a reason – for once – to smile. Snatch it from me. I will continue smiling. I will burn, and I will find a new sun. If there is no new sun to be found, then I will burn, and I will be a new sun.

Hoohum. Hoohah. Hoohay.

Send me to the kitchen, I will cook and clean the pots. Send me to the trash can, so I can take out the garbage. One day the dog will bark, and I will put down the remote control, grunt myself up to my feet and let her outside.

I have come to conquer the world. I have come to rewrite history.

Hoo. Hah. Hum. Hay.

Starkes Hertz

Leave a Reply

