The 17th of June 1962 – New York, New York

(found wrapped around the sticky end of a lollipop stick)

Dear Leo, Mr. Pencock, my friend,

I know what you’re thinking. I really do. I know what you’re thinking right now, after you’ve heard all the stories and about all the poems and the gifts and the whispers.

I know you’re thinking. I’m a goddamned sucker.

And I think you’re right. You know something? I think you’re totally just one hundred percent right.

I’m a goddamned sucker, a goddamned loser, and I’ve never felt so goddamned proud.

I gotta tell you Leo, Mr. Pencock, my friend, I just gotta tell you before I even say another word, I just gotta tell you that I’m absolutely head over heels. I’m absolutely and completely swooning over here, and I’m bending over backwards, and I’m twisting every which way there is, and it’s all just in the hopes that she might give me a second glance or a third smile, just maybe, just once.

That’s it, Leo. Mr. Pencock, that’s it completely. I’m a goddamned sucker. That’s it. Square on the head.

And I know you’ve heard, I know you’ve heard all about the flowers and the dances and the running halfway across town just to grab a quick lunch, but I’m telling you, Leo, that that’s just the best I can do. It’s all I can do because I’m actually swooning over here. That’s it, swooning, falling over myself and all the rest. I’m a goddamned sucker.

It’s not out of control, Leo, at least not yet. There’re the gifts and the meals and maybe it’ll all add up one day – sure it will, even if this whole business doesn’t pay off in the end, but it’s not out of control, at least not yet.

I know it too, what a fool I’ve become, what a fool I’ll eventually be. So I know it. I’m a goddamned sucker. I’m a goddamned sucker, and I’m chasing a goddamned skirt all over the goddamned place.

I’m a sucker, but I’m proud of it.

You know something, Leo, Mr. Pencock? I could be a sucker for anything, for worse things, but right now I’m a goddamned sucker for her.

So I’ll be a goddamned sucker.

Regards,

Peter

 

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s “To Octavia.”

 

Read more amazing poetry themed entries to this week’s challenge here.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

