The 18th of August 1941 – Germantown, Maryland

(found in a dusty trunk in a dusty attic)

Dear Mr. Beaumont,

I am writing you with a simple purpose in mind, Mr. Beaumont.

I am asking for your permission because I plan to propose to your daughter as soon as I possibly can.

I do anticipate, sir, some hesitance on your part. The future is as uncertain as ever, with the Germans marching through Europe and the Japanese sailing all over the Pacific. What’s more, I’m sure you know, I am quite young, and so is your – and my – dear Linda.

I hope you do not dismiss my request easily and without much thought, sir. I am not in the best position in the world right now, but perhaps none of us are anyway. Perhaps, with my youth, my brashness and my zeal, you can just reject me with even greater ease.

Whatever your response – your initial response, I should hope – I would like to just ask you a simple question. Why can’t I decide that myself? Why can’t I decide, unilaterally and arbitrarily, what I think is valuable, what I want to do?

My youth, you may assert, deprives me of wisdom, and ability – as so many of the last generation call it – to make those ever important rational and pragmatic decisions. But youth does not preclude me from making decisions. It does not bar me from living my life, and, sir – respectfully – that is all I am hoping to do at the moment. Your daughter’s and my desire right now may be right, and it could also be a foolhardy mistake. But it will be ours. It, wearing whatever cloak of youthful naiveté you may want to toss at it, will be ours.

I’m in love with your daughter, sir. I’m absolutely head over heels for her. She’s the only one that I can see, and that’s it. I’m terribly sorry, sir, but there’s nothing you can do about that.

Disparage my wisdom and my age for as long as you care, Mr. Beaumont, but I am old enough to know one thing, old enough to think it and to believe it fully. When something comes along that blows the doors off your house, you move. You don’t sit around. You don’t try to rebuild. You chase it, whatever it is.

So please, sir, I again request your permission to marry that dear Linda.

Sincerely,

James Trimble

Please check out the other great submissions to this week’s writing challenge here:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Amnesia | Crazy Art
  2. Ilya Fostiy. Muse | The Bliss of Reality
  3. Youth Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  4. The Illusive FEAR of Getting Old | Musings | WANGSGARD
  5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | In my world
  6. Looking Back (and Traveling) | JGTravels
  7. Thoughts on Aging | melissuhhsmiles
  8. Yelp for help…… | Obsessive Compulsive Running…….
  9. Youth is a B— | The Backwords
  10. Riding Into The Sunrise
  11. Weekly writing challenge- golden years | A picture is worth 1000 words
  12. The Defining Number | Through The Eyes Productions
  13. I am not my mother | Twisting Suburbia
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge – Perspective | Joe’s Musings
  15. Artfully Aspiring
  16. Wisdom of a Toddler | Artfully Aspiring
  17. I Couldn’t Wait | Fish Of Gold
  18. Young or old? Here’s how to tell | The Crayon Files
  19. The Elders of Us | Wired With Words
  20. Aging with grace and acceptance | Ezhealthcents
  21. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | imagination
  23. Thirsty thirties | Scent of Rina
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: GOLDEN YEARS | Thinking Languages!
  25. Wholehearted living… One day at a time. | masknolonger
  26. You’re As Old As You Feel | A Day In The Life
  27. Social Media has changed me | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  28. Golden Years | Icezine
  29. Counting The Scars/ Weekly Writing Challenge | standinginthestorm
  30. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Golden Years | Mirth and Motivation
  31. Fearless Youth | the intrinsickness
  32. Golden Years | mnemosynesandlethe
  33. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | MythRider
  34. i am always looking | y
  35. nobody has said if | y
  36. Age is Just a Number | Random Words
  37. The Age of a New Season | Mary J Melange
  38. Stories From My Mind
  39. It is OK, I am here | jessicadafoe
  40. We’re Still Aging! | theeyelife
  41. Age isn’t defined by a number (unless you’re a minor…). | …Properly Ridiculous…
  42. Working Girl | Never Stationary
  43. Golden Years (DPChallenge) | Between Madness & Euphoria
  44. “Unforgotten” | Cosmic Heroism
  45. And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade
  46. Age is Just a Number – – Ha! Age is a Bunch of Numbers! | Once Upon Your Prime. . .
  47. Y’alright? | TNT
  48. GOLDEN WHAT? | SERENDIPITY
  49. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | KiwiBee’s Chaos
  50. A Letter to Myself…(WP weekly writing challenge) | Daily Observations
  51. Is there an app for that? | the REmissionary
  52. Moving Through the Ages | In the Spaces Between Words and Images
  53. The Miracle | Rolbos ©
  54. Birthday Muttering & The Space Time Continuum | Unload and Unwind
  55. Life is a Terminal Disease, Thank God! | jlaneb
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Thoughts of an INFP
  57. Kids Make the Best Bookies: A Childhood Gambled on God and the Mob | reinventing the event horizon
  58. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Nursing Reunion (Golden Years) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  59. 48. EMBRACING TOMORROW | Gateway of Infinite Pathways
  60. Weekly Writing Challenge: (Tarnished) Golden Years « cognitive reflection
  61. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Of Glass & Paper
  62. Age is relative… | Hope* the happy hugger
  63. here we are, the | y
  64. golden years | yi-ching lin photography
  65. A master of sugar craft – (passion and destiny) | Travelandfoodworldwide
  66. The Defining Number | Through The Eyes Productions
  67. DP Challenge -Golden Years | My Other Blog
  68. What do age and time really mean? | jenniferannefleming
  69. Things Pondered: Life, Aging and the Meaning of It All | Sweet Tea and Poetry
  70. Maiden, Mother, Crone: all in one | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  71. Do you hear what I hear? | the Art of Practice
  72. Goodbye my Child | Victoria.K.Gallagher
  73. Here’s The Thing About Age (That No One Seems To Know) | Sammi Talk
  74. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: The Golden Years
  75. It’s Magic ::E.N.Howie’s Motivational Moments
  76. Here’s The Thing About Age (That No One Seems To Know) | Sammi Talk
  77. Worlds Apart | Apoplectic Apostrophes
  78. Death and Suffering: A fear of the Unknown | Thorough and Unkempt
  79. The Path | siobhanmcnamara
  80. Weekly writing challenge, the Golden years : It’s all Gold, a 95 word story | Challenged for Words
  81. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  82. Turning 26 | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  83. Teenage years? | Paper Plane Pilots
  84. Meaning of age | MamaAsparagus
  85. Beauty In A Plastic Age | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  86. The Young Old Lady, Mrs.Thopmson | alifemoment
  87. Twenty-seven: The Year of My Death | Schizo Incognito
  88. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years: After the Lights Went Out: The Lost Years | Just Be V
  89. Wrinkles | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  90. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Sarah Alison
  91. On Being 22 | motor city blondie
  92. Bending God. | thejimmieG
  93. If You Could Have Immortality..Would You Take It? | B.Kaotic
  94. “HIM” Weekly Writing Challenge | standinginthestorm
  95. Weekly Writing Challenge: Perspective Through The Ages | Fit 4 Life, LLC
  96. Aging like a fine Wine | C Life, Live Life
  97. “Can I See Your ID Please?” | littleladyme
  98. Birthday March | accidentallyreflective
  99. The Golden Years : Fashion Sense Vs. Fashion Sensibility | The Day After
  100. youth | yi-ching lin photography
19 comments

    1. I’d suggest using pingbacks as often as you can. Sometimes I worry about being haphazard in my use of them, but the response is always positive and it’s really helpful to connect with other great writers.

      Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

