The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York

(found taped to a mirror in her bathroom)

Dear You,

I just got back in from a walk, and I’m feeling a bit woozy. I was out for, well, I’m not sure how far I went or how long I was gone, but I’m feeling a bit woozy. I haven’t eaten in, well, a while I guess. I haven’t slept either, too. I had some water, just when I came in from the walk. So don’t worry, I’m drinking water. I know how you worry.

I bought one of those toy basketball hoops. They had it at the pharmacy a few blocks down the road. Now I have it hanging over my bedroom door. The thing just makes me so happy, tossing that orange rubber ball at the little plastic hoop. And the hoop just hangs there. No matter what you do, the hoop just hangs there. It just sticks to the doorframe like a goddamned object, and it lets whatever just bounce right off it.

I’m so happy. I’m not sure why, but I am. It’s amazing how happy you can be when you just, well, when you just decide to be, when you let that happiness just become its own thing that floats out of you and hangs there, like a little toy basketball hoop, like a goddamned object.

Happiness can be created, and once it’s created it can be held onto. Personas can be crafted out of pure nothing. The opportunities are limitless. You just have to tell yourself. You just have to make yourself.

Every time you’re down, I want you to remind me of the time you bought this little toy basketball hoop and the afternoon you spent laughing and throwing a little rubber ball at it. Every time you’re down, I want you to remind me of the time you went on this walk, of the time you saw the sun set over the Hudson, of the time you made him laugh and laugh and made yourself laugh too.

You can do that. You can tell yourself what you need to hear. Do it sometimes, at least, if not all the time, just enough to get by.

You have no obligation to the world. Neither does it to you, of course, but remember that. You are free to make what you please out of whatever you please. You don’t have to let it drag you down. You can cut it loose and let it fall away while you soar into the goddamned sky.

From,

Me

 

Check out more responses to this week’s challenge here:

  1. I don’t have a caffeine problem, and neither do you | Never Stationary
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | JGTravels
  3. The Do Over Train | melissuhhsmiles
  4. Join me for a writing challenge at The Daily Post | Butterfly Mind
  5. Doormats Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  6. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom’s blog
  7. Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  8. The Coat of Many Pockets | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  9. Approaching your 30′s with a big question mark? | Sober Rants
  10. Apology Issue #1 | Doe Words
  11. #DPChallenge; The Music | thepanicpersona
  12. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  13. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object – Andrea | sailingthroughthefog
  14. An afternoon (inspired by a true story) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  15. Him | Emily Schleiger
  16. DP Challenge: Object. My camera. | cockatooscreeching
  17. The Can of Sardines | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  18. The Red Pen | Sleep Less, Write More
  19. Sparkle | Master Of Disaster
  20. whodunit mystery solved | Musings of a Random Mind
  21. WWC: Object | Simple Heart Girl
  22. Egg UKO | flour mill reflections
  23. A Little Purple Ring | theauthorwhoknows
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination
  25. Talent Show | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object: My Grandma’s Hanky | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  27. Daily Prompt: Writing Challenge | The Road Less Travelled By
  28. Comforting pain | fifty5words
  29. WWC: Fenghuang | Kingdom of Sharks
  30. you are a box of | y
  31. Weekly Writing Challenge: Pope plates | Life of A Fallen Angel
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object Of Desire… | Mirth and Motivation
  33. Dirty Dishes | Etienette
  34. Alcove | My name is Ellie and this is who I am.
  35. The Short Ones Object (v.) | Mary J Melange
  36. Roadside Assistance (Fiction) | Toss the Typewriter
  37. Product Testing | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  38. The Coin | Mileventwelve
  39. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Sarah Alison
  40. Growing up in a Rickshaw | The Lesser Canine
  41. Scaring Myself Out Of—and Back Into—Writing | Imperfect Happiness
  42. Pieces of Us | loveletterstoaghost
  43. Volcanics « mediumblackdog
  44. until the stars stop | y
  45. A Rockstar To Get Me Through The Day | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD.COM
  46. I miss my microwave | Crap I Blog About
  47. DPchallenge: Object | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  48. Mr Seah (dotcom!) | Rainbows (a short story)
  49. BEWARE OF FLYING UMBRELLAS | SERENDIPITY
  50. HOT POTATO | Fit 4 Life, LLC
  51. The Evil Calculator | Alexia Jones
  52. My Daughter’s Balloon | Sentiments of a Working Mom
  53. The blue bicycle | the REmissionary
  54. Subjectification | Blue Loft
  55. The Wooden Walking Stick: Dangers of Getting Comfortable with Comfort | Thorough and Unkempt
  56. Alarm | Stealing All the Sevens
  57. I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
  58. Tigger: an object – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object – Seat: 49B | SA:ME (사메)
  60. The Lurker’s List | The Bum’s Newspaper – A Day in the Life of a Bum
  61. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object Of Desire…
  62. This Room | My Newingness
  63. An object lesson in writing? | First Person: a novel
  64. A 100 days to a new me: Day 9, where did the roses go? | Rebranding Life
  65. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Of Glass & Paper
  66. Me, the Fockers and a Cosmo. | Hope* the happy hugger
  67. Bicycle Balancing Act | Wright Outta Nowhere
  68. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | medicinalmeadows
  69. Three Red Chairs | The Silver Leaf Journal
  70. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object – My Grandma’s Reindeer | Blogizing
  71. Can You Hear Me Now? | thatchristalgirlsblog
  72. L’Object de Superflu | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  73. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Morrighan’s Muse
  74. DP Challenge: ONLY IF SOME BOOKS COULD SPEAK | one hundred thousand beats per day
  75. Second-Hand Tsukumogami | Fish Of Gold
  76. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Just Be V
  77. Teachings from my Grandmother | Ramblings From a Frazzled Mind
  78. Take a bite | 101 Challenges in 1001 Days
  79. If those dentures could talk. | Trucker Turning Write
  80. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | To Breathe is to Write
  81. Tiny Buddha | Butterfly Mind
  82. Hobbies Emerge from Odd Places | Inside the Mind of Isadora
  83. Unlocking A Secret | CCFordWords
  84. Five objects that I’m packing into my suitcase | Chilling in Chile
  85. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Lady K’s Lounge
  86. Minding the day. | jenny’s lark
  87. Chasing The Disc | Good2begone
  88. Writing prompt | hkirtz’s Blog
  89. A painter’s passion | A picture is worth 1000 words
  90. Being Up-Cycled | Life is a Journey
  91. morning meditation | nightmare of daytime
  92. FINDING MR. RIGHT | DANDELION’S DEN
  93. ‘DP Challenge: Object’ – The Light, The Dark. | Victoria.K.Gallagher
  94. Weekly writing challenge: Object | My world
  95. Statue ~ | Maverick Mist
  96. Using FBI Documents when Writing a Mafia Memoir (Chapter Nine) | reinventing the event horizon
  97. Bluebeary (DP Challenge) | jennsmidlifecrisis
  98. Offerings | Be Less Amazing
  99. A day in life of a wall-clock | sparky&gloomy
  100. The Fantasy Tree | So I want to be an author…

 

11 comments

Leave a Reply

