The 31st of March 1994 – Minneapolis, Minnesota

(found under a half-drunk bottle of Fulton)

Dear Lukas,

I saw her again.

I don’t know, I was out at the bar on 7th and Nicollet, and I saw her.

I don’t know what happened first. I saw her, and this hush muffled all the noise around me. The clinking glass and silverware, the talking and the screaming, the music all shut up beneath a suddenly collapsed ceiling of cotton balls.

I was already dizzy when I walked up to her. I gagged on the first words I was trying to say, but I did finally get the sentence out.

“Hello,” I said. “How are you?”

She said nothing.

“Listen, let’s get a drink,” I said, picking up steam. “Just a drink. We can talk, like that last time. Let’s just get a drink and talk like that last time.”

She still said nothing.

“I know how it ended,” I said. “But come on, just a drink, like old times, like last time. Let me buy you a quick drink, and we can just sit down.”

But she still said nothing.

I mean, she wouldn’t even move, and the way she sat there – stony, smooth and silent – the way she sat there just made it feel like candlewax had been dripped into my ears and had gummed up the works. Everything went away, no longer muffled, but just dead.

I could see so much happening, so much noise around me – and I had to because I just couldn’t stand to keep my eyes on just her any more. Those sounds, once vibrant, once muffled were now shut off.

In that sort of silence the only thing left for the brain to do is hear its own thoughts echo around an empty skull. That reverberation grows and grows, starting as the mutters of a cooing puppy and then rising up to the snarls of an attack dog. That reverberation slams itself against clogged eardrums, hoping to smash a way out, but finding no exit. I felt my eyes flutter and my knees weaken as that reverberation filled every nook and every cranny of my mind.

And then she touched me, lightly and on the arm.

“Just a drink,” I said, the melted candlewax dripping from my earlobe. “Just a drink.”

At this she stood up from the bar, and she finally spoke.

“No.”

She smiled.

“I’m sorry.”

She nodded her head, now flushed deep red.

“So sorry.”

She whispered it.

“Last time isn’t coming back.”

She went through the door.

Then she left me there, in absolute silence.

Marco

 

Check out more responses to this week’s challenge here:

  1. WWC: The Sound of Silence | The Crucial Kiwi
  2. The Sound of Silence | The Joy of Health Nutrition and Beauty
  3. A Silent Hunt. | The Shady Tree
  4. Silence Speaks Louder Than Words | Creative Mysteries
  5. Silence of the Cat | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  6. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence #writing | Of Glass & Paper
  7. The sound of … | How to write a memo
  8. Behind the Facade of the Narcissist’s Silent Treatment | An Upturned Soul
  9. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence – Breaking the Barrier | humanTriumphant
  10. The Painting On The Wall | Midnight Butterfly
  11. Weekly Writing Challenge: Silent Screams | NOWHERE TO RUN
  12. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  13. The Sound of Silence | 101 Challenges in 1001 Days
  14. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | To Breathe is to Write
  15. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. Hush me again, I can’t stand it. | May van Reenen
  17. it’s haircut day | Musings of a Random Mind
  18. My Quest for the Sound of Silence | Schizo Incognito
  19. No Curse | scottishmomus
  20. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | The Wandering Poet
  21. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge : The sound of silence | Loin de zanzibar
  23. Silence between us | Scent of Rina
  24. The Mountain and the Apology | Keep It Real Sister
  25. Children Say It Like It Is | Not the Family Business!
  26. Excruciating Silence | Life Sans God
  27. A Vow of Silence? | living my life
  28. Silence is the greatest enabler of abuse. | My thoughts on a page.
  29. The Sound of Silence | Cafe Reading
  30. Weekly Writing Challenge – Silence | Niki’s Thoughts
  31. I Answer My Mom | angieinspired
  32. The sound of silence | Boulevard Bellerive
  33. Hear no evil | Jenna Dee
  34. The unbearable sound of silence | Outmanned
  35. The Sound of Your Daughter’s Silence | smallandbrown
  36. The Grab Bag Empire: The “Silent” Challenge | britzersleigh
  37. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Mirth and Motivation
  38. Thought Processing Centre | I’m Drew Llew, how do you do?
  39. Keeping Score is the Worst Kind of Habit | Rewriting Your Heartlines
  40. My silent battle with Harold | Dianne Gray author
  41. a one-sided conversation | memoirs of an unremarkable man
  42. Silence is Louder. | TNT
  43. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence « the barren page
  44. the silent heartbeat | lifeinthedport
  45. Salt Eater | field of thorns
  46. Clamorous Silence, What A View | Wandering Gypsy Spirit
  47. Born into Silence | Running Brook Reflections
  48. Silence: Bus Minutiae | WWC | i dont even know what im doing here
  49. TURBULENCE: Prelude | mesardonicmesarcastic
  50. Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence: Where are the Christians of Christ? | The Latest Word
  51. The Sound of Silence | The Nameless One
  52. The Sound of Silence | Living in the Moment
  53. Write, instead of think/talk.. | davidriswanto
  54. Stop and Be Still | davidriswanto
  55. My Relationship With Silence | misserinterese
  56. Silence of the Night | tuckedintoacorner
  57. Practicing Silence – The Key to Finding Inner Peace | Vida Manejo
  58. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | my random writing zone
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Morrighan’s Muse
  60. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | becoming a family
  61. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence/ The cost of silence in Ukraine | veryukrainian
  62. The Sound Of Silence | farmerfarthing
  63. Silence – Another way to show your love ! | Out of reflection
  64. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  65. Silence And It’s Lessons | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  66. Silence And It’s Lessons | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  67. DP Challenge Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence | Sabethville
  68. On Silence | Chasing Yellow
  69. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence
  70. litter | yi-ching lin photography
  71. Break the Silence | Living Dead Girl
  72. Anatomy of a Difficult Summer | I’m Supposed to be Doing Something Else Right Now
  73. Silencing My Mind | Sentiments of a Working Mom
  74. You forgot to say your new job was ‘Back Stabber’ | Blogizing
  75. The Sound of Silence | Venti Mocha Moments
  76. Coerced into Silence…..(wp weekly prompt) | Daily Observations

16 comments

    1. Thanks for reading! I love challenges like these, and I love reading everyone else’s responses. Yours was great, very interesting!

Leave a Reply

