The 19th of June 1982 – Hometown, Pennsylvania

(found where nobody else could see it)

Dear Matthew,

Do you think you’re right?

I shouldn’t start with that, I know, because it’s been such a long time, and it was so nice to have received your letter. But I feel the question must be asked. Whatever you think of me, however little or much, has been made very clear. But now I would like to know what exactly you think of yourself.

Tell me, please, what do you think is happening in the mind of someone who differs from you, someone who disagrees with you, someone like me. I think, if you think about it, you’ll find that – whoever they are and whatever they think – they’re convinced of their own correctness to the same degree as you.

I know you think I’m childish. I know you think I’m unprepared and naïve and weird and that I’ll soon come to regret most or all of the decisions I’ve made so far. I know, and I know this most of all, that you have affixed that label onto me, your favorite term for those moral castoffs quaking at your feet. I know you call me with my habits “unhealthy.”

I’m tired of you saying that you’ve “never seen me that way.” I’m starting to think that you’ve just never seen me.

I may be wrong. You may be wrong. I may be right, and you could be right too. What we both know, what I am certain is what gives you the most comfort, is that you have more people on your side than I have on mine. The lucky thing is, though, we aren’t fighting a war. I don’t need to convince you of anything. I’m just trying to live.

I can’t tell if you really are that stilted, stagnant and boring of a human being, or if you’re merely trying to maintain some façade of adult maturity.

It’s hard for me to believe the latter as your behavior strikes me as being so childish.

I know you want me to live one of those lives, normal, functional, productive like a good citizen. It’s always about the path with you, the path and following it. When it isn’t, when you finally open your eyes, catch a glimpse of the world and take a detour, it’s always conscious and deliberate. It’s always just another path for you, always following a path.

I’m sorry Matthew, even though I’m not. I appreciate your patience and your care, but I’m sorry because I know that I can’t do that. Even if I wanted to, I know that I just can’t do something like that.

Harry

Check out other submissions for the Daily Prompt here:

  1. Daily Prompt: With or Without You-Solving Conflict | Journeyman
  2. Daily Prompt: Complex « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Feuding Neighbors Create “Sno-Man’s” Land | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  5. A Very Big Mistake | Knowledge Addiction
  6. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  7. Brandon’s Mentor And The Daily Prmpt | The Jittery Goat
  8. When People Have More Faith in You than Yourself | Rima Hassan
  9. Drawing a line in the sand: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  10. Streetlight | 365 days of defiance
  11. Daily Prompt: Till Death do us Part? | Anniemation Floe
  12. A Game of Picnic | My Play Nook
  13. Stop Telling Lies Or Else! – Writing | wangsgard.com
  14. Torture of Four Years | Daily Prompt: With or Without You | likereadingontrains
  15. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Sabethville
  16. Get It In Gear | The Shotgun Girls
  17. Where are your gods now (a tale) | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  18. On the hook | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  19. Putting it All on the Line Prayers and Promises
  20. 268. Ultimatum | Barely Right of Center
  21. A Day Different | Random Blotches
  22. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | theshamelesswanderer
  23. Daily Prompt : With or Without You | Valley Girl Gone Country
  24. Life Is Complex | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  25. Me or him- it’s your choice | Animal Love
  26. Me or him- it’s your choice | A picture is worth 1000 words
  27. DP: Us or Them | Scorched Ice
  28. A picture is worth 1000 words
  29. WITH OR WITHOUT YOU: IT DOESN’T ALWAYS WORK OUT THE WAY YOU EXPECT | SERENDIPITY
  30. simple (senryu in three parts) | peacefulblessedstar
  31. Job or It’s The End Of You and Me! | Views Splash!
  32. Ultimatums and Death | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  33. Ultimatums and Triple Dog Dares! | meanderedwanderings
  34. Too late | Life is great
  35. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  36. Daily Prompt: With or Without You « Mama Bear Musings
  37. The Forever Choice | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  38. i would repeat you | y
  39. Only With You | A mom’s blog
  40. My Brother, the Incorrigible Drunk | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  41. In Line Of Fire | Flowers and Breezes
  42. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  43. Fighting Ultimatums | Ana Linden
  44. No More Contacts Please ! | My Life and My Career
  45. Nicki Minaj and A Free Fall. | meg lago
  46. Pointillism in Borneo | Mishe en Place
  47. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Basically Beyond Basic
  48. yesterday’s snow lets | y
  49. You Stop This NOW! | Buzzy Beez
  50. Idyllic way of traffic or nostalgia | Le Drake Noir
  51. Ultimatums are bad. All the time. Just say no. | Curious Jac
  52. The Camino Plan | Exploring Assisi – The Unintentional Pilgrimage (Part 1)
  53. Daily Prompt: Complex | Occasional Stuff

 

 

9 comments

Leave a Reply

